16 July, 2008

New Copyright body for Southern and Eastern Africa

According to Intellectual Property Watch, a new copyright body, Southern and Eastern Africa Copyright Network (SEACONET) has been formed to strengthen regional collaboration and cooperation in the field of creative industries, copyright and related rights.

The Malawi based body comprising of seventeen African countries will also focus on fighting piracy and harmonisation of copyright laws in the 17 affiliated sub-Saharan African countries.

According to the IPwatch report, the need to create the body is due to the lack of a regional forum where issues relating to the promotion and protection of creative industries, copyright and related rights could be discussed.
The body, according to Allafrica.com is to come up with new methods of combating piracy in the region and to create an information database for artistic and cultural activities.
The countries involved are Angola, Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Seychelles, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe

No comments:

Post a Comment